“Why the Adept” and Other Odd Concepts

Up until March of 2010, I was pretty much your basic “let’s debate the structure” Michael Student.  So how did I turn the corner into Balance, Synthesis, Adepts, Logos, Infinite Souls, The Palestine Monad, Agape, The Intuitive Path, and just a whole lot of stuff that sounds vaguely “spiritual” and very touchy feely?  Well, I read the transcripts of the original Michael group.  Read them twice, all the way through, in April and June of 2010.  And worked for the rest of the year on restoring them, with line by line comparisons to the original scanned typewritten documents.  And every bit of what I talk about is right there in those transcripts.

Now, I’d read them at least twice between 1998 and 2006 — but I hadn’t picked up on the advanced stuff.  I’d pretty much skipped over all of that because I just wasn’t at a point that I could really “hear” it and understand it.  It took a lot of years of working with the structural teaching to really grok the next steps.  But what I recognized this time, was that Phil Wittmeyer was right; there were two teachings.  There was the Yarbro version, and then there was something entirely else.  As a point of comparison, here’s a rough chart of word frequency:

Now, this is “rough” for a number of reasons; there are a lot more pages in the transcripts that we have than is in MFM, so a whole lot more words in general.  In some ways you have to look at a control neutral term like “Tao” and compare percentage of word use for the other terms.

But.  In each instance you can see the correlation between the transcripts and MFM; Yarbro used the transcripts to build MFM but channeled MMFM and MP from her group. You can see clearly that “Jesus” and “Christ” were dominant topics for the original Michael Group [henceforth TOMG], and a small amount of that was carried over to MFM, and there was nearly zero interest in them for MMFM and MP. This more spiritual area, as well as concepts that reflected the Gurdjieffian roots of the group, were left almost entirely out of Yarbro’s MFM compilation. She also did not revisit them in her own work, and this is why I maintain that these are two very different lines of Michael teachings; TOMG and Yarbro. They point to different audiences.  Yarbro opened with the structure, and stuck with it.  She could easily have pulled the advanced stuff out and created a second book with it, but she didn’t.

If you’ve only read Yarbro (and most of the work by other authors published post-Yarbro), you are handicapped as a Michael student, and yes you will likely see no reason to include the items listed in this table — and so many other concepts are lost to you. Is that a problem? No, not generally. No, not if you are more interested in the structural levels of the work such as overleaves, karmic threads, false personality, agreements and monads. But yes, it’s going to be a problem for “advanced study” based in Michael Teachings; the transcripts are the single source for the advanced part of the path.

Terri pointed out once that we should all be reading through the transcripts together, as “true study.” This is because we don’t have the full teaching in front of us otherwise. It is extremely difficult to understand the advanced level concepts if you don’t read those transcripts. But at the same time, I generally discourage this, which probably makes scholars just go “tsk tsk.” It is a huge document. It takes a great deal of time and patience to slog through, and there is as much that is no longer relevant (like 300+ overleaf readings) as there is stuff that is entirely critical to students.  For this reason I have taken a great deal of time to put together compilations; this way there is a more ready reference to the specific subjects we need.

Honestly though, having walked over transcript ground twice in 2010, and again in 2011, this is where I get a good part of my information from. I haven’t created this on my own or turned things inside out to find it. The work I do on my blog [Come to Capernaum] I realize now is “propagating the Logos” (something Michael reminded the original group was necessary) and I was asked to work on that project to open myself up to these words/concepts, to be able to integrate them into my work on the path, and to practice teaching. I doubt at this point I can neutralize them enough for anyone who has issues with them. So I have put together the compilations as study guides for these concepts to demonstrate just how often they appear in the original work. At the outset — understand that the adept student (“adept” being Michael Entity’s word) and the Logos are intimately intertwined.  If any of the words in the above table give you problems, then you need to look at your own biases and figure out why.

Copyright adeptpath.net 2012, all rights reserved.

Comments are closed.